Capital Planning Committee

About the Committee

The committee consists of 7 members and serve 3-year terms (Board of Selectmen appointed only). Members are appointed as follows:

  • 1 appointed by the Planning Board from among its members
  • 1 appointed by the School Committee
  • 2 appointed by the Finance Committee, at least 1 of whom is from among it members
  • 3 appointed by the Board of Selectmen

This committee annually assists the town manager in the preparation of a capital improvement program. It makes recommendations on the capital expenditure requests from town boards and departments to the Board of Selectmen and the Finance Committee. The capital program and recommendations become an integral part of the Finance Committee’s budget report to Town Meeting.

Ref: Bylaws, Ch. 2, Sect. 4.5