Sustainability in Our Community: Town Boards and Committees

CAP Committee Mtg fr CAP

The following volunteer Town of Winchester boards and committees play important roles in Winchester's approach to climate change, either in reducing carbon pollution, increasing community resilience to climate change impacts, or both. All of these committees are appointed by the Select Board and are open to Winchester residents.

Climate Action Advisory Committee (CAAC). The CAAC is a seven-member committee appointed by the Select Board with a mission to advise and assist the Select Board in the ongoing development and implementation of the Town of Winchester 2020 Climate Action Plan.

Conservation Commission. The Conservation Commission is a seven-member committee appointed by the Town Manager, with approval from the Select Board, to serve 3-year terms. The commission has responsibility for the preservation of open space and implementation of the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and the Winchester Wetlands Bylaw. It holds public hearing on projects that are in or near wetland resource areas.

Energy Management Committee (EMC). The EMC has seven voting members and several non-voting members. The EMC is charged by the Select Board with advising and assisting the Town of Winchester in the implementation of energy efficiency and renewable energy related cost-saving measures for municipal buildings, facilities, and infrastructure.

Open Space and Recreation Committee. The OSRC is appointed by the Select Board for the purpose of updating the town's Open Space and Recreation Plan. The committee consists of a member of the business community and representatives from the Select Board, Commission on Disabilities, Conservation Commission, Department of Planning, Department of Public Works, Historical Commission, Planning Board, Recreation Department, Traffic and Transportation Advisory Committee.

Wright Locke Farm Conservancy (see relevant websites here and here). The WLFC manages, operates and stewards certain land, buildings, assets and resources sited on and constituting Wright-Locke Farm. Members are appointed by the Select Board.